In November 1994, the newly formed Cat Writers’ Association, held its first writing competition. Founding member, the late Karen Kuykendall, designed the coveted Muse Medallion™. Karen was also the first recipient of a Muse Medallion. The Muse is awarded to the best work of like kind, such as newspaper articles about health and general care, magazine articles about behavior, or newsletter columns. The special awards go to the entry that best covers a specific topic.

Nineteen years later, the spirit of the excellence still lives on in the Muse Medallion. That first competition had 5 regular categories and 10 sponsored special awards. Since then the awards have been broadened to include 50 regular categories and 22 special awards.

The process is as follows: Qualified entries are evaluated by professional members of the Cat Writers’ Association. Certificates of Excellence are sent to people whose entries receive an average score of 90 or higher by three professional CWA members. The certificate recipient with the highest score is the winner of the Muse Medallion for the category in which it was entered. The winners are announced at the Cat Writers’ Association annual conference in a specially scheduled awards banquet.

In addition to the highly sought after Muse Medallions, numerous special awards are available through the generosity of corporate and private sponsors. These award winners are also announced at the awards banquet during the annual conference.

CWA is grateful to all of our sponsors for their continued support. In particular, we wish to thank the sponsors of our special awards. Without them, these awards would not be available.

Follow these links for more information:

  • A Note From Our Contest Chairperson
  • Contest Rules
  • Regular Categories List
  • Special Awards List
  • Entry Forms and Payment Information
  • 2013 Winners
  • m4s0n501